Latest Post

What is Web Hosting? How to fix [pii_email_685671f3256d244a] error?

Flickr is an online community of professional and amateur photographers. Flickr provides you with image and video hosting services. It was founded on February 14, 2004, by Stewart Butterfield and Caterina Fake. Users can post high-quality photos and videos on Flickr.

Flickr is all about quality. Flickr lets you organize your photos and videos in the form of an album which you can access later. It was the first photo and videos sharing website in 2004. Flickr has a user base of 112 million and over 3.5 million + photos and videos are uploaded on Flickr every single day.

What is Flickr Really Used For?

Flickr is a photo and video sharing website. Flickr provides you with unique and exciting features like photo management, digital galleries and albums, editing tools, and many more.

Flickr groups are great to have discussions and meet like-minded people. You can share your photos and post comments. You can upload 1000 photos and videos without paying a dime. The stats feature lets you see how and where your photos and videos are being discovered.

After uploading 1000 photos, you can switch to the Pro Flickr account. It lets you upload unlimited photos and videos. It will cost you $6.99 per month or $60 per year. Pro subscription also provides you with more features like advanced stats, automatic backups of photos and videos, ad-free browsing and sharing, discounts, etc. The maximum photo and video size limit is 200MB and 1GB.

Flickr has a feature called Favs in which you can star photos and videos that you like and add them to your own galleries. You can print your albums into photo books and can get a wall art of your photos from Flickr.

Safety Filter

Flickr is a place where all kinds of content are appreciated. Before uploading a photo or a video Flickr lets you choose which type of content you are uploading. It provides you with three options.

  1. Safe – It is the default option when you upload a photo. Choose this option if your content is not 18+. Think if it is appropriate for children.
  2. Moderate – This option includes partial nudity. This would include bared buttocks, minimal genital covering, nipples, and topless nudity. According to Flickr Community Guidelines, people should moderate their content. It helps members filter out photos and videos they might want to avoid.
  3. Restricted – This option includes graphic content and offensive content. This would include private body parts, imagery depiction, violence, assault, adult pictures, etc. The restricted option only works on photos, videos cannot contain explicit and restrictive content, and they are deleted if reported.

From May 1, 2022, free accounts are limited to posting only safe content. People who want to upload moderate and restricted content will have to upgrade to a Pro Flickr account.

Safe Search Filter

The safe search filter is for those who are surfing Flickr and don’t want to see a certain type of content such as teens and children under the age of 18. Parents should use this filter when their child is surfing Flickr or any kind of website.

When the safe search is on it hides explicit content for the other members who are surfing Flickr. The safe search filter will be on if you are not signed in to Flickr. You can select between safe, moderate, and restricted content.

If you are under the age of 18, you should select a safe or moderate filter, and if you are above the age of 18 you can select a restricted filter. You can change this setting after every search via the advanced search page.

If you live in Singapore, Hong Kong, India, and Korea, based on your local terms you will only be able to view safe content. You will never be able to turn off Safe Search Filter.

How to Turn Off Safe Search Filter in Flickr?

If you want to turn off the safe search filter in Flickr you have to follow these simple steps given below:

  1. Open your browser, and go to flickr.com
  2. After signing in, tap on the profile picture on the top right corner of the page.
  3. Click settings, and now tap on Privacy & Permissions.
  4. Under the heading Content Filters, Click Edit.
  5. Click on Safe Search Off.

6. Click save changes.

Now you will be able to see the restricted content and follow the above steps if you want to turn on the Safe Search Filter.

Conclusion

Flickr is about art and the artist. It is used to upload and organize photos and videos.

Flickr should be used wisely by members who are under the age of 18. Flickr appreciates and recognizes the importance of photography. It gives equal importance to its users and its members. Flickr is safe to use and will be in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.